NCTF Spotlight - The Saint Lucia National Conservation Fund


Incorporated in 2016, the Saint Lucia National Conservation Fund (SLUNCF) is dedicated to the conservation, restoration, and effective management of Saint Lucia’s biodiversity and natural resources”. The SLUNCF has 11 Directors, with Non-Government Directors being in the majority. The Board of Directors comprises Founder Member Directors, Government Member Directors, and Non-Government Member Directors. 


Founder Member Directors represent the Economic Development Portfolio in the Government of Saint Lucia, the Saint Lucia National Trust, and the St. Lucia Hotel and Tourism Association. Non-Government Directors are from the Saint Lucia Co-Operative Credit Union League Ltd., the Soufriere Marine Management Association, Inc.; the Saint Lucia Bar Association, Caribbean Youth Environment Network Saint Lucia Chapter, and The Nature Conservancy (TNC).

The Board of Directors direct the business of the SLUNCF and exercise all powers of the Fund in accordance with and subject to any restrictions imposed by the “Articles of Incorporation,” and any legally binding agreement entered on behalf of the SLUNCF and any applicable law or regulation.

sluncf site

There are three standing Committees of the Board:  The Executive Committee which is responsible for governance; the Technical Advisory Committee which is responsible for Grant Making and providing advice on scientific matters; and the Resource Mobilisation Committee which is charged with raising funds to further increase the Capital in the Trust Fund.

In 2018, SLUNCF opened its offices, with a new Chief Executive Officer, and an initial staff. The important milestone for this year is definition and issuance of its first call for proposals, a result of its partnership agreement with the Caribbean Biodiversity Fund (CBF), who has provided the first tranche of resources to the SLUNCF under their Endowment Fund Facility.

supported by


6 Colonial Hill Plaza
Thompson Blvd.
P.O. Box CB 11398
Nassau Bahamas